Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Neurotransmitters, receptors and psychoactives
UberNoodle
post Jan 19, 2011, 09:08 AM
Post #1

Group: Basic Member
Member No.: 33382

Hello,

I stumbled upon this board in my research. It seems like exactly what I need! I have questions about neurotransmitters and psychoactive drugs. I'm not studying or in the field of Neuroscience, however. I'm an English teacher and writer. I'm hoping that somebody could at least point me in the right direction or give me a general answer, if they have time.

Could a fictional neural transmitter in one kind of creature affect another kind of creature as a psychoactive chemical? In the first group creatures, the chemical serves an integral purpose in their proper brain functioning. However, in the second group the same chemical is recieved like a drug.

I understand that neurotransmitters require specific receptors. Do psychoactive drugs require the same. Do our brains have explicit receptors for each of the active chemicals in those drugs? I understand that for THC we do. Is that an example of an exception or the rule? My grasp of all this is that psychoactives work by reducing, increasing, blocking, or 'impersonating' naturally occurring neurotransmitters.

I ask this because if both creatures require the receptors for that chemical, then would it make sense that the same chemical is received in wildly different ways?

As a bonus question, I remember reading about some kids years and year ago who tried Speed and unfortunately it was not what it should have been. In the end result was that the gland (?) that produces the neurotransmitter for voluntary muscle movement was destroyed or severely damaged, ultimately "freezing" the kids like statues. I saw more about it on a 60 Minutes, I think. To cure it, glands from pigs were grafted onto the kids brains, but the glands would deteriorate over time, giving the kids symptoms like Parkinson's Disease. Does this sound right to you?