BrainMeta'   Connectomics'  

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Raid 5 volume failure.
Discordia
post Dec 12, 2007, 10:35 AM
Post #1


Aspiring
**

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Nov 28, 2007
From: Ahwatukee, Arizona
Member No.: 14894



So here is the deal. Our Quickbooks/helpdesk server just crashed. When I enter the Raid configuration it shows that the raid volume has failed, but all drives are still a green status, which tells me that the data still exists. Would replacing the raid controller fix this issue?

The damn idiot who runs the server did not make back ups.....wow....
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
maximus242
post Dec 12, 2007, 10:46 AM
Post #2


God
******

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 1755
Joined: Jan 24, 2006
Member No.: 4768



Call customer service.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Discordia
post Dec 12, 2007, 11:12 AM
Post #3


Aspiring
**

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Nov 28, 2007
From: Ahwatukee, Arizona
Member No.: 14894



QUOTE(maximus242 @ Dec 12, 2007, 11:46 AM) *

Call customer service.




nice, but unfortunately I am the customer service.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rick
post Dec 12, 2007, 01:14 PM
Post #4


Supreme God
*******

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 5916
Joined: Jul 23, 2004
From: Sunny Southern California
Member No.: 3068



Evidently it's a hardware failure that does not include the disks, so replacing the controller is a possible troubleshooting step, unless you can find someone with experience on your type of RAID system.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Discordia
post Dec 12, 2007, 01:32 PM
Post #5


Aspiring
**

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Nov 28, 2007
From: Ahwatukee, Arizona
Member No.: 14894



QUOTE(Rick @ Dec 12, 2007, 02:14 PM) *

Evidently it's a hardware failure that does not include the disks, so replacing the controller is a possible troubleshooting step, unless you can find someone with experience on your type of RAID system.


Yeah hopefully the replacement controller works. I cannot understand why this guy would not have made back ups. The first thing you learn being a network administrator is make BACK UPS. I also cannot understand WHY they would put years of accounting information and ALL of our customer information on one box with ONLY raid 5 redundancy and no back up...this could ultimately cost thousands of dollars if the new controller wont fix it. I guess that goes to show that even a college education does not make a smart person.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rhymer
post Dec 12, 2007, 02:26 PM
Post #6


Supreme God
*******

Group: Global Mod
Posts: 2093
Joined: Feb 27, 2003
Member No.: 385



If you have any data problems after fixing your hardware problem a good piece of software may be seen here

http://www.file-recovery.net/features.htm

Also it can be problem - Google for 'raid 5 rebuild' (no quotes) and you will find several good sites outlining the problems with crashed raid 5 systems.
Good Luck!!
I have successfully used active file recovery by the way.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zhenka11230
post Dec 12, 2007, 02:31 PM
Post #7


Awakening
***

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Nov 11, 2007
Member No.: 14344



QUOTE(Discordia @ Dec 12, 2007, 02:12 PM) *

QUOTE(maximus242 @ Dec 12, 2007, 11:46 AM) *

Call customer service.




nice, but unfortunately I am the customer service.


LOL!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rick
post Dec 12, 2007, 03:17 PM
Post #8


Supreme God
*******

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 5916
Joined: Jul 23, 2004
From: Sunny Southern California
Member No.: 3068



QUOTE(Discordia @ Dec 12, 2007, 01:32 PM) *
... why this guy would not have made back ups. The first thing you learn being a network administrator is make BACK UPS.

He probably listened to the marketing guys who told him that the RAID redundancy made backups unnecessary. However, we all have to learn the hard way, don't we? I still hear people say things like "my hard drive crashed so it's not my fault I lost the files." That reminds me, I need to make some backup DVDs.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rhymer
post Dec 12, 2007, 04:25 PM
Post #9


Supreme God
*******

Group: Global Mod
Posts: 2093
Joined: Feb 27, 2003
Member No.: 385



Why not use Mozy for your backups?

Their free offering is for 2Ghz of backup !!

See https://mozy.com/home
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rick
post Dec 12, 2007, 05:00 PM
Post #10


Supreme God
*******

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 5916
Joined: Jul 23, 2004
From: Sunny Southern California
Member No.: 3068



QUOTE(rhymer @ Dec 12, 2007, 04:25 PM) *

Why not use Mozy for your backups?

Their free offering is for 2Ghz of backup !!

See https://mozy.com/home

I just filled three 4.7 gigabyte DVDs with my user files. I would have to pay five bucks a month for the unlimited Web backup, and then wouldn't be sure I could trust them until I needed it. The DVDs are fairly reliable.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Discordia
post Dec 12, 2007, 08:28 PM
Post #11


Aspiring
**

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Nov 28, 2007
From: Ahwatukee, Arizona
Member No.: 14894



QUOTE(Rick @ Dec 12, 2007, 05:00 PM) *

QUOTE(rhymer @ Dec 12, 2007, 04:25 PM) *

Why not use Mozy for your backups?

Their free offering is for 2Ghz of backup !!

See https://mozy.com/home

I just filled three 4.7 gigabyte DVDs with my user files. I would have to pay five bucks a month for the unlimited Web backup, and then wouldn't be sure I could trust them until I needed it. The DVDs are fairly reliable.



If you don't mind me asking Rick, but you have me curious now...What do you do for a living?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rick
post Dec 13, 2007, 10:19 AM
Post #12


Supreme God
*******

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 5916
Joined: Jul 23, 2004
From: Sunny Southern California
Member No.: 3068



QUOTE(Discordia @ Dec 12, 2007, 08:28 PM) *
If you don't mind me asking Rick, but you have me curious now...What do you do for a living?

I'm a scientist and engineer working in the spacecraft business. I have worked on the Gamma Ray Observatory, The Chandra Advanced X-Ray Astronomical Facility, and the James Webb Space Telescope.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Discordia
post Dec 13, 2007, 10:34 AM
Post #13


Aspiring
**

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Nov 28, 2007
From: Ahwatukee, Arizona
Member No.: 14894



QUOTE(Rick @ Dec 13, 2007, 11:19 AM) *

QUOTE(Discordia @ Dec 12, 2007, 08:28 PM) *
If you don't mind me asking Rick, but you have me curious now...What do you do for a living?

I'm a scientist and engineer working in the spacecraft business. I have worked on the Gamma Ray Observatory, The Chandra Advanced X-Ray Astronomical Facility, and the James Webb Space Telescope.



Impressive...is the only word that comes to mind. Impressive.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
astroidea
post May 23, 2008, 08:21 AM
Post #14


Aspiring
**

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 97
Joined: May 22, 2008
Member No.: 22853



QUOTE(Rick @ Dec 13, 2007, 11:19 AM) *

QUOTE(Discordia @ Dec 12, 2007, 08:28 PM) *
If you don't mind me asking Rick, but you have me curious now...What do you do for a living?

I'm a scientist and engineer working in the spacecraft business. I have worked on the Gamma Ray Observatory, The Chandra Advanced X-Ray Astronomical Facility, and the James Webb Space Telescope.

Impressive indeed.
I was just reading your autobiography.
Did you ever get done writing the part for TRW and USC and beyond? I'd like to read it.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Fox Dame
post Oct 18, 2012, 11:47 PM
Post #15


Newbie
*

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Oct 15, 2012
Member No.: 34615



When a member of a RAID-5 volume fails, you can reconstruct the data for the failed member from the remaining members. In Disk Management, select a new area of free space that is the same size as or larger than the other members of the RAID-5 volume, and then regenerate the data. If you are required to restart the computer, the volume manager reads the information from the stripes on the other member disks and then reconstructs the data of the missing member and writes it to the new member.
http://www.buygw2golds.com
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stephen2013
post May 20, 2013, 12:54 AM
Post #16


Newbie
*

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 20, 2013
Member No.: 35124



You will have to search on internet you will get the solutions.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alan peterson
post Mar 17, 2015, 03:19 AM
Post #17


Newbie
*

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mar 17, 2015
Member No.: 37602



Evidently it's a hardware failure that does not include the disks, so replacing the controller is a possible troubleshooting step, unless you can find someone with experience on your type of RAID system.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AndresDawson
post Feb 06, 2016, 01:31 AM
Post #18


Newbie
*

Group: Basic Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Feb 06, 2016
Member No.: 38075



Really some hopefull advice is here .
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2017 - 01:31 AM


Home     |     About     |    Research     |    Forum     |    Feedback  


Copyright BrainMeta. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use  |  Last Modified Tue Jan 17 2006 12:39 am

Consciousness Expansion · Brain Mapping · Neural Circuits · Connectomics  ·  Neuroscience Forum  ·  Brain Maps Blog
 · Connectomics · Connectomics  ·  shawn mikula  ·  shawn mikula  ·  articles