Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Exploding Head Syndrome
Planet
post Nov 03, 2007, 02:47 PM
Post #1

Group: Basic Member
Member No.: 12276

Hope I am posting this in a right part of the forum. I am a newbie and I suffer from this problem. My head doesn't exactly explode and falls into pieces, but I actually get such sounds in my head.

I am not a regular drinker. I strictly don't do drugs. I smoke cigarettes, that's all. No addiction to caffiene etc. Just before drifting into sleep, I used to hear exploding sounds that would wake me up. I would check everything around me, and realise that the sounds were internal. No pain etc. but just uncomfortable enough to bring me bake to awakened state and keep me awake for a while. Nowadays, I hear less of banging but I get vibration sensations in my head just before drifting into sleep. They are sometimes so strong that it feels that someone is literally passing painless electric waves in my head from one temple to another. Very strage indeed! I have been to the doctor with it. He was to send me for brainscan, but there is no sign of any appointment through the post. I think it's a neurological issue, causing auditory experiences. I have read a lot about Hypnagogia and sleep paralysis etc. but it hasn't helped me enough to understand this problem.

I wonder if anyone can cast any light on a problem of this kind? if not, I will try some health forum.

Thanks in anticipation.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rhymer
post Nov 03, 2007, 03:50 PM
Post #2

Supreme God

Group: Global Mod
Member No.: 385

Have you considered the possibility of a form of tinnitus?

I have suffered with a 6.5 k whistle in my left ear for 30 or more years.

About 10 years ago, I started to hear what I call 'thunder'.
This sounds just like rolling thunder, but I can stop it by pressing on my eyeballs (or even on my skull above the eyes) with a finger.