> Getting Started
Shawn
post Jan 23, 2003, 05:48 PM
Post #1

God

Group: Admin
Member No.: 9

hello everyone,

there's so much to talk about in philosophy, but first we should talk about getting started.  Perhaps we could start in broad strokes, just listing some important, influential philosophers and their key ideas.  

I've always found Spinoza's geometric approach to Nature/God, as well as his geometric presentation in the Ethics, to be very inspirational and interesting, and I'm wondering whether other people have regarded him in a similar way.  Or what about Nietzsche, or Berkeley, or Schopenhauer?

looking forward to some replies.

Shawn
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ErikCSA
post Jun 16, 2003, 09:26 AM
Post #2

Group: Basic Member
Member No.: 141

hello,

Ahh I am a young beginner at philosophy, and i personally love Spinoza!! The first time I read about him in a neat little book Story of Philosophy by Will Durant, I was amazed by how so many later ideas in psychology can be traced back to him, not to Freud, as I once thought. It also seems that the latest advances in physics are confirming his meta-physic (maybe its not a meta-physic anymore?).
I started reading about Spinoza at the beginning of my senior year in high school and was inspired enough that I've tried to follow his geometric style in many of my own papers, the last of which I posted at http://groups.msn.com/TheHeadMonksKookyKri.../godandman.msnw , anyways I was wondering what a more experienced scholar thinks about my paper, since it's too late in the year to get my teacher's opinion before graduation.
The paper should be interesting: much of Spinoza's God, and an attempt at arriving at a universal moral code for mankind by Spinoza's great "conatus sese preservandi." It may be a bit clunky, I had to write it in class and had no time to edit.
I would love some input
                                       A beginner,