BrainMeta'   Connectomics'  

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> fight or flight, what makes us act or overreact?
chris 64
post Jan 21, 2013, 07:52 PM
Post #1

Group: Basic Member
Member No.: 34842

Kinda long

I'm new at studying the brain. Much of this letter is a copy of another web site. I don't want to debate on the accuracy of this website. I'm just using it to ask my question. The time that it takes to think was something I guessed. I read some tea leaves then flipped a coin. I don't expect that to be accurate.

My question is: what makes us overreact?

Input comes from or senses. (see, hear, touch, etc) and then gets routed to the thalmus. From there, it spits off into two paths.

The short road

Amygdala, Hypothalmus

One of these paths takes will take us straight to the amygdala. If we're about to get mauled by a bear or hit by a speeding car, we need to act fast. We don't have time to stop and think about our options. We need to spring into action now!

The long road
Sensory cortex, Hippocampus, Amygdala, Hypothalmus

Both developing thoughts meet at the amygdala. The longer road take can take 0.5 3 seconds to get there. However, the short path takes only 0.0005 seconds.

This is where things can go haywire. If the brain feels stress, the developing thought that's taking the short road reacts instantly. We don't wait for the one that's taking the long road. We may think the worst, prepare for it and then calm down (or try to) if we find out that it wasn't the worst as we assumed in the first place.

For example, we hear the front door rattle. The rattling noise races to the thalmus, From there it splits in two directions. One developing thought goes straight to the amygdala where it's determined that it could be a murderer trying to force his way in! It then jumps to the hypothalmus where it prepares for fight or flight!