Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Internal Audio Feedback?, Sleep related sensory behaviour question
StuckInaLoop
post Dec 25, 2010, 08:38 PM
Post #1

Group: Basic Member
Member No.: 33330

Hi all,

This is my first post here, I'm a layman and know very little about the brain and how it works and this seemed like a good place to ask my question so any thoughts on this would be really helpful.

I sleep with a server running in my bedroom 24/7 and have done for at least 6 years. I've noticed many times in the past that as I drift from my waking state to my sleep state my hearing fades out and becomes muffled, as if someone pushed earplugs into my ears. Sometimes I'd become aware of this effect when it happened and in doing so would wake myself up slightly, at which point the background noise would return to normal suddenly, at which point it would jolt me awake enough to snap back to normal

This all (sort of) makes sense so far but a couple of months ago I reached that point but decided not to react in the usual way, which was to "register" that sound had changed, i decided to just go with it (not waking the rest of myself up) and was astonished to find that within maybe half a second it had built to a level I've never experienced before in my life (and I'm a heavy metal drummer)