Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Schemas and Imitation?, Tracing the imitation signal through the brain
icake
post Sep 24, 2016, 10:09 AM
Post #1

Group: Basic Member
Member No.: 38367

Hello, I know this is likely a topic that is both too complex and maybe even not researched enough, but I was wondering if there might be at least some picture that's been established in regards to my question below. And I am a fair novice in this, so I am probably going to get many things wrong too.

I found two videos on cerebellum and the flow of information in the brain with great diagrams.
Youtube: Cerebellum by Armando Hasudungan
Youtube: Cerebellum by khanacademymedicine

First of all, am I right to conclude that cerebellum plays the major role in creating procedural memory, and in that process, the creation of schemas, which keep track of the incoming sensory patterns, and thus perform different schemas depending on these sensory inputs?

The next question is whether the memory is actually "saved" in the cerebellum? Because these videos are not including the hippocampus, but then again, is hippocampus and the surrounding regions only involved in declarative learning? (Here is hippocampus video I found that explains of information flow too):
Youtube: The Hippocampus and episodic memory by Brains Explained

Finally, the main question that I am hoping to get some insight into is in regards to the ability to imitate. Is there good research and understanding of the actual way the process of imitation includes other brain parts and how they tie into the cerebellum diagrams that were shown in the two cerebellum videos above?

For example, which parts of the brain would be involved in tracking the "sensory input patterns" and "understanding" that the movement of someone's right hand that was just observed is connected to one's own right hand?